Previous Winners


The International Crime Writing Hall of Fame
2012 Kathy Reichs, Jo Nesbo, Stuart MacBride, Anthony Horowitz, Ann Cleeves
2011 David Baldacci, Mark Billingham, Lee Child, Peter James, Peter Robinson
2010 Frederick Forsyth, George Pelecanos
2009 Colin Dexter, Lynda La Plante, Val McDermid, Ian Rankin
2008 Agatha Christie, Arthur Conan Doyle, P D James

CWA Gold Dagger (now called CWA Goldsboro Gold Dagger) for Crime Novel of the Year
2012 Gene KerriganThe Rage (Harvill Secker)
2011 Tom Franklin – Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter (Pan)
2010 Belinda Bauer – Blacklands (Corgi)
2009 William Brodrick – A Whispered Name (Little, Brown)

CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger for Thriller of the Year
2012 Charles CummingA Foreign Country (HarperCollins)
2011 Steve Hamilton – The Lock Artist (Orion)
2010 Simon Conway – A Loyal Spy (Hodder)
2009 John Hart – The Last Child (John Murray)

CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger for Best First Novel 
2012 Wiley CashA Land More Kind Than Home (Bantam)
2011 S.J. Watson – Before I Go To Sleep (Doubleday)
2010 Ryan David Jahn – Acts of Violence (Macmillan)
2009 Johan Theorin – Echoes From The Dead (Doubleday)

The Specsavers Bestseller Dagger
2012 Kathy Reichs

Breakthrough Author of the Year
2008 Stuart MacBride – Broken Skin (HarperCollins)

International Author of the Year
2008 Stieg Larsson – The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo (Quercus)

Author of the Year
2008 Ian Rankin – Exit Music (Orion)

ITV3 Public Vote
2012 Lewis – DI Robbie Lewis & DS James Hathaway – Detective Duo Dagger
2011 Peter James – People’s Choice Bestseller Dagger
2010 Foyle’s War (ITV) – The People’s Detective
2009 Harlan Coben – Viewers Award for Favourite Crime Genre Author
2008 Colin Dexter – Writer’s Award for Classic TV Drama

Film of the Year
2012 Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy (Studio Canal)
2011 True Grit (Paramount Pictures)
2010 Inception (Warner Bros)
2009 Gran Torino (Warner Bros)
2008 The Bourne Ultimatum (Universal Pictures)

TV Crime Drama of the Year
2012 Sherlock: Series 2 (Hartswood Films/BBC One)
2011 Case Histories (Ruby Films/BBC One)
2010 Sherlock (BBC)
2009 Red Riding (Channel 4 Films)
2008 Criminal Justice (BBC)

International TV Crime Drama of the Year
2012 The Bridge(Danmarks Radio, Sveriges Television/BBC4)
2011 The Killing / Forbrydelsen (BBC4)
2010 Wallander (Series 2) (Yellow Bird Films)
2009 The Wire (HBO)
2008 The Wire (HBO)

Best Actress
2012 Clare Danes – Homeland (Channel 4)
2011 Sofie Gråbøl – The Killing / Forbrydelsen (BBC 4)
2010 Maxine Peake – Criminal Justice (BBC)
2009 Juliet Stevenson – Place of Execution (Coastal Productions)
2008 Hermione Norris – Spooks (BBC)

Best Actor
2012 Benedict Cumberbatch – Sherlock (BBC One)
2011 Idris Elba – Luther (BBC One)
2010 Benedict Cumberbatch – Sherlock (BBC One)
2009 Dominic West – The Wire (HBO)
2008 Rupert Penry-Jones – Spooks (BBC)

Best Supporting Actress
2012 Kelly MacDonald – Boardwalk Empire (Sky Atlantic)
2011 Ann Eleonora Jørgensen – The Killing / Forbrydelsen (BBC 4)
2010 Dervla Kirwan – The Silence (BBC)

Best Supporting Actor
2012 Martin Freeman – Sherlock (BBC One)
2011 Rafe Spall – The Shadow Line (BBC Two)
2010 Matthew Macfadyen – Criminal Justice (BBC)

For earlier Dagger winners please click here to visit the Crime Writers’ Association website.